Cook

Pimento Cauliflower & Cheese with Spinach


I’m doing keto again (forever?) and have spent part of my day making stuff to stock the fridge. Keto can sometimes mean home-cooked meals for most of what I eat (if I’m trying to avoid fast food & eat something more exciting than salad). I love to cook and try new recipes, but sometimes I just don’t feel like spending my evening in the kitchen. 

To help my week go smoothly, I made several things today including the yummy pimento cauliflower & cheese pictured above. I steamed florets from a whole cauliflower, so I now have lunch for tomorrow! I also made enough pimento cheese sauce for two or three servings. Ka-Ching!

This dish is really good. I’m not just saying that because I love anything pimento cheese, either. I will forewarn you that if you don’t like cauliflower, you may not like this dish. The cheese sauce does a LOT for it, but it’s still cauliflower. You can also leave out the spinach, but I try to put it anywhere I can because it’s so good for you!

This recipe does not have any added grain, flour, starch, or carbs (aside from what is naturally occurring in the ingredients). I don’t have a net carb count, but it’s probably in the 4-5 net carbs range. I’m just guessing. Also, if you’re counting calories and are freaking at the ingredients list…remember, keto is a high-fat diet! It is not intended for keto-ers to really worry about number of calories because fat-for-fuel is much more satiating than carbs and so people on keto eat a lot less in total food volume.

ANYHOO, ONTO THE RECIPE!

Pimento Cauliflower & Cheese with Spinach

Ingredients

  • 1 medium head cauliflower, chopped
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 onion, finely chopped
  • 3/4 cup cream cheese (full fat! Low fat dairy has added sugar in it!)
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder 
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard (I made this keto recipe & it’s good)
  • 2/3 – 3/4 cup heavy cream (depending on how thick you like the sauce)
  • 1 1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 3 tbsp pimentos, chopped
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 1/2 cup fresh baby spinach (optional; I don’t recommend using frozen)

Directions

  1. Steam cauliflower. Set aside.
  2. Melt butter in saucepan. Add onions and cook over low-medium heat until translucent.
  3. Add cream cheese and mustard. Sprinkle garlic powder. Stir to combine and get cream cheese melted.
  4. Add heavy cream, stirring to combine.
  5. Add cheese and stir to combine. 
  6. Stir in pimentos then season with salt and pepper to taste.
  7. When cheese sauce is done, layer cauliflower, then (optional) spinach, then cheese sauce. Allow sauce to heat up spinach, about 3-5 minutes. 
    Layered!
  8. Stir cheese sauce into spinach & cauliflower, then serve.

One thought on “Pimento Cauliflower & Cheese with Spinach

Leave a Reply

