Cook

Chicken Parmesan Meatballs

Have you ever thought you were pressed for time in making dinner and started worrying because all you had were chicken thighs? This was me, a few days ago. I know chicken thighs don’t take that long to cook, but coming up with something that isn’t “oh, look, I cooked chicken thighs in a pan. And, uh, here’s some random vegetable” is a bit harder!

In a moment of rare brilliance, I decided to turn my chicken thighs into MEATBALLS. I figured my food processor could chop up the thighs decently and, well, if there happened to be a big chunk of chicken in the meatball who cares. It turns out that my little food processor did exceptionally well and grinding up the thighs! The rest of this recipe is basically dumping other things into a bowl with the ground chicken thighs. When I make meatballs or meatloaf, I tend to just grab things that sound good and throw them in.

I’ve tried my best to remember what the heck went into these meatballs. The recipe below is for the meatballs only. Serve with your favorite pasta and sauce (or veggies and sauce)(or just eat plain 🙂 If anything sounds odd, leave me a note!

Screenshot 2016-03-30 13.12.20

Chicken Parmesan Meatballs

Serves 4-6

Ingredients:

  • 1-1 1/4 lb boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 1/2 cup Italian breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp Cavender’s Greek Seasoning (This is the secret ingredient!)
  • 1/2 Tbsp lightly dried parsley
  • 1/4 tsp salt (there is salt in the Cavender’s)
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil

Directions:

  1. Grind up chicken thighs in food processor. Add breadcrumbs, parmesan cheese, egg, greek seasoning, parsley, salt, and pepper. Pulse a few times to combine.
  2. Form meatballs – about 1.5″ across. Make sure they’re all roughly the same size so they all cook at the same rate. Add olive oil to skillet over medium heat.
  3. Add meatballs to skillet. Cook about 5 mins, turn, cook another 5 mins. (I recommend cutting one in half to see if they’re cooked through.)
  4. Serve!

 

 

 

Leave a comment